Start with Why

Start with Why

The whole book spoke to me, maybe even at that “limbic” level of the brain Simon Sinek, the author, mentions, where you can’t articulate with words. He stated that it’s all about feelings, and those feelings inspire one to take the actions, when framed right. I am going to write this entry based on being an entrepreneur.

I have been hanging around the “startup” community in Kalamazoo for just over a year. Within that time, I have been inspired, encouraged and supported when I come up with my own ideas. Even with an MBA degree and a supportive community, that hasn’t made it easy. I want to do what is against most of what has been ingrained in me, and what the majority of people expect – not pursue finding a “real job.” I’m not sure why working for someone else is considered a “real job” versus starting your own or working at a startup. The work can be just as hard and more fulfilling when it is your passion you are following. It is ironic if working for a corporation seems more secure since it is common for layoffs and usually the application states something about being an “at will” employee. In other words, you are completely controlled by someone else’s decisions. On the other hand, starting your own business means that the only way you lose your job is if you quit.

A story in the book (p217) described “desperate thoughts, thoughts that for an entrepreneur are almost worse than suicide:” The author thought he was failing, and what he stated was “I thought about getting a job. Anything. Anything that would stop the feeling of falling I had almost every day.”

Stacy & WK

This is something I think about constantly. It is frantically worse at the times my credit card is close to being maxed out from covering bills, or rent savings is low. Yet, I don’t want to quit. I want to find a solution that will keep me on this path and not lose the basics, such as food and shelter for my cat and me.  My stomach turns and I get stressed because I want to be a part of something inspirational, and get paid as the outcome to cover those basic needs. The author states (p224) “We come to work to inspire people to do the things that inspire them.”

What are your experiences?

Happy reading!

Stacy (a.k.a. “The Book Lady”)

Leave a comment

Filed under Book Lady Choices

Leave a comment